About Us

The Board of Trustees consists of carefully chosen members who are fully committed to advancing the strategic vision of the Foundation and assuring that fiduciary responsibilities are met.


John D. Campbell, Trustee, Chairman

John D. Campbell is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Fannie E. Rippel Foundation. He joined the Foundation as a member of the Investment Committee in 2003 and became a Trustee the following year. Mr. Campbell was with Goldman Sachs for over 33 years, retiring as Managing Director of the Asset Management Division. Earlier in his career, he practiced law in New Jersey with the former firm of Pitney, Hardin & Kipp. He also spent a year with Volunteers in Service to America in the “Domestic Peace Corps” (later named AmeriCorps VISTA). There, he played an important role facilitating an urban redevelopment project in the Los Angeles area. Mr. Campbell has served on the boards and investment committees of several nonprofit organizations.

Mr. Campbell and his wife, Jean, have two daughters and two grandchildren. He received his B.A. from Princeton University in 1963 and his L.L.B. from Columbia Law School in 1966.

Edward W. Ahart, Trustee

Edward W. Ahart joined the Board of the Rippel Foundation in 2010. He is a partner with Schenck, Price, Smith & King in New Jersey. Now Chairman of the Firm, he previously served as the firm’s Managing Partner and Chair of its Management Committee for nearly twenty years.

Mr. Ahart has extensive experience in business counseling, having represented a wide range of corporate and nonprofit entities. He has been listed in “Who’s Who” and “Who’s Who in American Law” and has been recognized by New Jersey Monthly magazine as one of New Jersey’s “Super Lawyers”. He is also a frequent speaker on corporate governance, transactional and financing matters.

A committed member of the community, Mr. Ahart has served in numerous leadership roles including his current role as Chair of the Lafayette College Board of Trustees. After graduating with honors from Lafayette College in 1969, Mr. Ahart attended the Cornell Law School, receiving his law degree in 1972. Prior to joining Schenck, Price, Smith & King, LLP in 1973, he served as Law Secretary to the Honorable Joseph Halpern, Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division. He is admitted to the Bar in both New Jersey and New York.

Elizabeth G. Christopherson, Trustee, Secretary

Elizabeth G. Christopherson joined the Fannie E. Rippel Foundation as a Trustee in 2009. Ms. Christopherson is the President and CEO of the Rita Allen Foundation. Established in 1953, the Rita Allen Foundation invests in transformative ideas in their earliest stages to leverage their growth and promote breakthrough solutions to significant problems. One program, the Rita Allen Scholars, supports outstanding scientists in the early stages of their research careers in the fields of cancer, neuroscience and immunology.

Previously, Ms. Christopherson led NJN Public Television and Radio as Executive Director and President of the NJN Foundation during an historic time for the broadcasting industry. Under her leadership, NJN earned unprecedented regional and national recognition for program excellence, innovation and best practices. She is the recipient of five honorary degrees and numerous awards for public service including the prestigious 2007 Women Who Make a Difference Award from the International Women’s Forum (IWF).

Pages: 1 2